Red Cinnamon Cake

I got home from work the other day feeling slightly restless. The afternoon hours had dragged and I slowly felt more and more lethargic. My mood lifted when I stepped outside into brilliant sunshine at the end of the day. What had been a cold grey sky in the morning was now a stunning blue and in the end I got off the bus early to walk the rest of the way home and enjoy the weather.

Despite this I still felt like I needed to do something on my feet when I sat down in front of my laptop. With mum off to a gym class, dinner was a simple affair of a sausage roll and a cup of tea. I opened up an Internet window, clicked on the Tastespotting bookmark and instinctively typed ‘cake’ into the search box. The moment the page loaded and I started scrolling through the pictures I knew I wanted to bake. Finally I found this recipe, not online but in a notebook from when I’d copied it out of a recipe book.

As I set soya spread, eggs and soya yogurt out on the counter and set about greasing and lining the tin I felt an air of calm settle over the kitchen. I smiled as I watched the batter come together, imagining biting into a soft, moist slice of cake. Once I’d slid the pan into the oven and set the time I settled into wait, slightly nervous that it would collapse, come out achingly dry or simply be disappointing. I danced up and down between the table and a spot where I could see in and watch it rise.

In the end I needn’t have worried. When the cake came out it sank slightly but it was still domed and a soft, sugary brown colour. From the outside it looked plain but I was pleasantly surprised when I cut it into slices and found the inside a deep mahogany red. It smelt wonderful but I felt I had to photograph its surprising, beautiful colour. After my first bite I knew this cake would be something I would make again and again. It was soft, moist and the taste was fabulous, my parents thought the same and immediately went back for more.

I got this recipe from 1001 Cupcakes, Cookies and Other Tempting Treats.

Cinnamon Cake

225g butter/soya spread
225g caster sugar
3 lightly beaten eggs
225g gluten free self raising flour
1/2tsp baking soda
1tbsp cinnamon
150ml plain soya yogurt

Preheat the oven to 180˚C/350˚C and grease a 9” square cake pan and line the bottom with baking paper.

Cream together the butter and sugar until fluffy then beat in the eggs.

Sift in the flour, baking soda and cinnamon a bit at a time and fold in then gently mix in the yogurt.

Pour into the pan and smooth the surface. Bake for 45 minutes or until a skewer poked into the centre comes out clean.

Loosen the edges with a spatula and turn out onto a rack to cool. Cut into sixteen pieces.

7 Responses to “Red Cinnamon Cake”


  1. 1 Carine July 26, 2010 at 9:05 am

    Red coloured cake…Hmmm..interesting! p/s: I LOVE CINNAMON!!!

  2. 2 Kausambi July 26, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    I found you on food gawker and simply have to make this now. like, NOW. Yummy!

  3. 3 Ruby July 28, 2010 at 10:23 am

    Gorgeous shot – you’re my ‘Weekly Wow!’ for the week of 28th July. Congratulations!

  4. 4 Ruby July 28, 2010 at 10:28 am

    By the way, please check out the badges for winners – you’re now eligible to put one on your blog. You’ll find them on my ‘Blogga Bling’ page in various sizes and formats.

  5. 6 marie July 30, 2010 at 8:14 am

    Hi there – gorgeous picture – but what makes the batter red?

    • 7 indigo July 30, 2010 at 8:22 am

      I’m afraid I have absolutely no idea. I think it must be something to do with the chemistry of how the ingredients combined but that’s all I know, it looked like any other cake batter when I poured it into the pan but it was a nice surprise.


Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow me on Twitter

Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


